Posted by: jessiejumps | January 20, 2013

Paleo Beef Stew

OMG! A paleo beef stew recipe?!?  How creative!   No one has ever posted about that before…

So, on occasion, I get incredibly tired of cooking… it’s not the cooking part so much, it’s the cleaning. oh, and the grocery shopping. oh, and, the waiting for my food to be done.  When that happens I pull out my trusty slow cooker and throw some sort of concoction in there – this time it was little morsels of beefy deliciousness.

What I threw in (in this order):

  • 1 white onion – cut into slices
  • 1 jeweled yam (or you could use a sweet potato)
  • 3/4 of a carton of sliced mushrooms (I could’ve put them all in, but I ate 1/4 of the carton while I was slicing onions… i couldn’t help it!)
  • 1 or 2 green peppers sliced up
  • 1 Anaheim pepper (also sliced)
  • minced garlic (1-2 heads)
  • 2 lbs organic beef stew meat (I first sprinkled it with salt & pepper, then sauteed it in some olive oil, then dumped the meat and juice from the pan into the slow cooker)
  • 1 can tomatoes
  • 1/2 quart of organic low-sodium chicken broth (I would’ve used beef if I had any)
  • drizzle of balsamic vinegar (for a little zing)
  • spices to taste (I put salt, pepper, garlic powder, onion powder, and italian seasoning)

Cook on low all day.

Enjoy your delicious creation and super easy clean up (I used one of those crockpot bags so I just had to throw out the bag and rinse out the slow cooker – could it get any easier?!?!).  It really is  a meal in itself, but I was really freakin’ hungry and paired it with some cauliflower puree from a recipe I found over at Urban Amazon (seriously click that link – the recipe is super easy and so so good).

For dessert, I had these chocolate chocolate chip cookies from PaleoFeet.  These were one of the most delicious paleo friendly desserts I have ever had the pleasure of eating.

Enjoy!

 

 


Responses

  1. glad you enjoyed them!! 🙂

    • I did! I wanted to make more last night, but was out of honey 😩


Leave a comment

Categories